The East Cleveland Fire Department
was created by Village Ordinance #96 on May the 22nd, 1899. Prior to that time the village relied upon its citizens to fight
fires, sometimes with the help of Cleveland Fire Department. Originally the department was all volunteer, comprised
of thirty men. The first fire station was nothing more than a shed containing a horse drawn cart equipped with hose, buckets
and miscellaneous tools. In 1905 an American LaFrance horse drawn wagon was bought and a new fire station was built near
the present site of Station #1.
growth of the department paralleled the growth of the city and by 1913 the volunteers had been replaced by nine professional
firemen. Also by 1913 two motorized apparatus, a Winton hook and ladder and a Robinson pumper, had been added. In 1916 Station
#1 and the original Station #2 were opened. Station #1, with some remodeling and additions, continues to serve the community.
The original Station #2 was replaced in 1960 with the current building.
a department of volunteers pulling horse carts, ECFD has grown to 57 professional firefighters, organized into three shifts,
manning two engine companies, a truck company, two rescue squads and a command vehicle.